Islamic Studies

The Islamic Curriculum at Dubai English Speaking College follows the 12 Years Ministry of Education Curriculum. It has several objectives with the prevailing goals:

  • to be able to understand the language of the Quran and Islam
  • have a good understanding of Islamic history and what constitutes Islamic character

Curriculum Overview

The aim of this course is to build a strong Muslim student identity based on the Quran and the teachings of the Prophet Mohammed (peace and blessings be upon him),  which will help students to apply and live islam in their society. They will also encounter the practices and other expressions of the major beliefs of contemporary world religions, enabling them to have an understanding of the nature of religion as well as its expression in, and influence on, the lives of individuals and society,  and so to respect each other’s views and nature.

The Islamic Studies course covers five areas of study:

‘Aqeedah (Islamic Doctrine): Students learn about the six articles of faith.(To believe in Allah, to believe in his Angels, to believe in his Messengers, to believe in his Books, to believe in the Last Day, to believe in Divine Destiny). Students are introduced to their Islamic doctrine; a comprehensive knowledge about their Creator and things he has created mainly dealing with the unseen pillars of faith and is presented with a clear and authentic picture of how they are viewed in Islam. An introductory unit about comparative religions is taught when students reach Level 6.

Al Qur’an wa Oloomih (The Noble Qur’an and its sciences): Students learn to recite the Qur’an along with the rules of Tajweed in depth as they move on to higher levels so that they can recite and understand the Qur’an independently. They also learn the meanings of a few important chapters/passages of the Qur’an to practice them in their daily lives.

Fiqh-ul-Ibaadaat Wal-Muamalaat (Worship and Dealings Jurisprudence): Students learn about the five pillars of Islam. They get the chance to practice Islam at school by offering Dhuhr Salaah at the school Prayer Room and undertake workshops on different pillars of Islam during different periods of the academic year.

Seerah Wa Taareekh (The Islamic History): Students learn stories of the prophets as well as other stories mentioned in the Quran. Students study in detail, the life of the Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him) as well as the thirty years that followed his death, known as the Rightly Guided Caliphate. Students are then introduced to stories of the different companions of the Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him), as well as other important figures throughout Islamic history.  Specifically, students will learn about the four great Caliphs of Islam; Abu Bakr, Umar, Uthman and Ali (RA).

Akhlaaq (Manners and morals): Students learn about the Islamic code of morals, manners and ethics. For example, they are guided towards the right actions to be taken in the following cases;

  • respect to parents, elders and teachers
  • kindness, cleanliness, eating habits and etiquettes
  • Islamic greetings
  • dressing code
  • manners in the mosque
  • good relations with people of other religions
  • forbidden food and drinks
  • and many others.

Students are also instructed about such actions to be avoided, such as backbiting, boasting, jealousy and miserliness.

Reading and studying stories are an important component of this part of Islamic studies. Duas (supplications) are also part of the curriculum, whereby students memorise daily duas and recite them at the appropriate times

Related stories